Priorities

Current Priority: Transition to T+2

In recent years, the global financial industry has taken measures to mitigate operational and systemic risk in capital markets. The move to settle trades more quickly is designed to reduce margin and liquidity needs during times of economic volatility and lessen credit and counterparty exposure.  Most European countries have successfully shifted to T+2, Australia and New Zealand are shortening their settlement cycle to T+2 in 2016, and U.S. markets have committed to moving to T+2 in Q3, 2017. Now that the U.S. is planning to implement T+2 in Q3, 2017, the need for industry-wide co-ordination is again paramount, with Canada committed to meeting the same target and timeline.  See T+2 FAQs.

Future Priorities

The CCMA will continue to investigate and support initiatives that are important to the Canadian investment industry. The CCMA Board approves all new initiatives to be undertaken by the association, in consultation with the overall industry.

Past Priorities

The CCMA’s priority in 1999 was to facilitate the Canadian securities industry’s overall preparedness to implement straight-through-processing (STP) strategies while promoting efficient and timely trade-date matching among capital market participants.  A later CCMA effort focused on whether to extend daylight saving time (DST) by five weeks with the United States in 2007.

Top

ENGLISH   |   FRANÇAIS
(416) 365-8594   info@ccma-acmc.ca

Priorités

Priorité actuelle: Transition vers T+2

Au cours des dernières années, l’industrie financière mondiale a pris des mesures pour atténuer le risque opérationnel et systémique sur les marchés financiers. Le passage à un règlement des transactions plus rapide est conçu pour réduire les besoins de marge et de liquidité en période de volatilité économique et de réduire le crédit et le risque de contrepartie. La plupart des pays européens ont évolué avec succès vers T+2, l’Australie et la Nouvelle-Zélande raccourcissent leur cycle de règlement à T+2 en 2016, et les marchés des États-Unis se sont engagés à passer à T+2 au troisième trimestre de 2017. Maintenant que les États-Unis prévoient de mettre en œuvre T+2 au 3ème trimestre 2017, la nécessité d’une coordination à l’échelle de l’industrie est encore une fois primordiale, et le Canada s’engage à répondre à la même cible et avec le meme calendrier. Voir T+2 FAQ.

Priorités Futures

L’ACMC continuera d’enquêter sur, et de soutenir les initiatives qui sont importantes pour l’industrie de l’investissement canadien. Le Conseil d’Administration de l’ACMC approuve toutes les nouvelles initiatives à entreprendre par l’association, en consultation avec l’ensemble du secteur.

Priorités Passées

La priorité de l’ACMC en 1999 était de faciliter la préparation globale de l’ industrie des valeurs mobilières au Canada pour mettre en œuvre les strategies de straight-through-traitement (STP) tout en favorisant la correspondance efficace et rapide des dates de transaction entre les participants du marché des capitaux.

Par la suite, un autre effort de l’ACMC a été axé sur l’étude de l’opportunité d’étendre l’heure d’été (DST) de cinq semaines, avec les États-Unis, en 2007.

Top